By Ken Crippen
Pro Football Researchers Association

Individual Single-Season Historical Records in Jeopardy
As the season progresses, I will keep an eye out for individual single-season records that could fall.
As it stands right now, we are on pace to break two individual single-season records, both relating to quarterback play.
Projected 2011 Totals Comp Att Yards TD INT
Drew Brees 476 666 5,462 42 12
Tom Brady 401 605 5,249 40 12
Aaron Rodgers 368 540 4,982 45 6
*Red denotes projected record
Current NFL Records:
Attempts: 691 – Drew Bledsoe (1994)
Completions: 450 – Peyton Manning (2010)
Yards: 5,084 – Dan Marino (1984)
Touchdowns: 50 – Tom Brady (2007)
Interceptions (Most): 42 – George Blanda (1962)
Interceptions (Least): 4 – Tom Brady (2010)
Projected 2011 Totals Att Yards TD Fumble Rating
Maurice Jones-Drew 336 1,524 8 3 94.30
*Red denotes projected record
Current NFL Records:
Attempts: 416 – Larry Johnson (2006)
Yards: 2,105 – Eric Dickerson (1984)
Touchdowns: 28 – LaDainian Tomlinson (2006)
Projected 2011 Totals Rec Yards TD
Wes Welker 118 1,577 10
*Red denotes projected record
Current NFL Records:
Receptions: 143 – Marvin Harrison (2002)
Yards: 1,848 – Jerry Rice (1995)
Touchdowns: 23 – Randy Moss (2007)
Projected 2011 Totals Sacks
Jason Babin 20.5
Jared Allen 20
*Red denotes projected record
Current NFL Record: 22.5 – Michael Strahan (2001)
Projected 2011 Totals INT
Kyle Arrington 8
Eric Weddle 8
Charles Woodson 8
*Red denotes projected record
Current NFL Record: 14 – Night Train Lane (1952) (12-game season)
Historical Records from Week 15
Marshawn Lynch – Lynch has 10 consecutive games with a touchdown. That sets a franchise record.
Aaron Rodgers – Rodgers broke Brett Favre’s franchise record for touchdown passes, set in 1996. Favre had 39 touchdown passes that year. Rodgers currently has 40.
Drew Brees – Bress had his 11thconsecutive 300+-yard game this season. No other quarterback in NFL history has accomplished this feat.
LeSean McCoy – McCoy broke the franchise record for touchdowns in a single season. The previous record was 18 set by Steve Van Buren in 1945. McCoy currently has 20.
This Week in Pro Football History
Date: December 19, 1948
Location: Shibe Park (Philadelphia, PA)
Attendance: 28,864
A blanket of heavy snow covered the field. Neither team could pass effectively, as the Chicago Cardinals passed for only 35 yards, while the Philadelphia Eagles were held to seven total passing yards. The only scoring came when the Eagles took advantage of a miscue by the Cardinals. Late in the third quarter, Elmer Angsman fumbled on his 17-yard line. It was recovered by Bucko Kilroy of the Eagles. Bosh Pritchard ran it six yards to take the ball to the Cardinal 11-yard line. Runs by Joe Muha and Tommy Thompson put the ball on the five-yard line, where Steve Van Buren punched it in for the only score of the day.
The win gave the Eagles their first NFL championship.
  1 2 3 4 F
Chicago Cardinals 0 0 0 0 0
Philadelphia Eagles 0 0 0 7 7
Scoring Summary:
PHI Van Buren 5-yard run (Patton Kick)
Date: December 22, 1963
Location: Frank Youell Field (Oakland, CA)
Attendance: 17,401
Four AFL records were set that day as the Oakland Raiders won a shootout 52-49 over the Houston Oilers. It was the first time in AFL history that two teams combined for more than 1,000 yards in a game. The final score was the most points scored in a game by two teams. Quarterbacks George Blanda and Tom Flores combined to throw 11 touchdown passes, also an AFL record. In the second quarter, both teams combined to score 49 points, an AFL record.
  1 2 3 4 F
Houston Oilers 14 21 14 0 49
Oakland Raiders 7 28 7 10 52
Scoring Summary:
OAK Gibson 69-yard punt return (Mercer Kick)
HOU Hennigan 4-yard pass from Blanda (Blanda Kick)
HOU Smith 2-yard run (Mercer Kick)
HOU Dewveall 12-yard pass from Blanda (Blanda Kick)
OAK Herock 7-yard pass from Flores (Mercer Kick)
OAK Daniels 56-yard pass from Flores (Mercer Kick)
HOU Smith 25-yard pass from Blanda (Blanda Kick)
OAK Powell 81-yard pass from Flores (Mercer Kick)
HOU Tolar 1-yard run (Blanda Kick)
OAK Powell 20-yard pass from Flores (Mercer Kick)
OAK Powell 45-yard pass from Flores (Mercer Kick)
HOU Dewveall 26-yard pass from Blanda (Blanda Kick)
HOU McLeod 21-yard pass from Blanda (Blanda Kick)
OAK Powell 23-yard pass from Flores (Mercer Kick)
OAK Mercer 39-yard field goal
Date: December 20, 1975
Location: Rich Stadium (Orchard Park, NY)
Attendance: 54,993
Two records were broken that day, as Fran Tarkenton broke Johnny Unitas’ record with his 291sttouchdown pass. Buffalo’s O.J. Simpson broke Gale Sayers’ record of 22 touchdowns, set in 1965.
Tarkenton’s record came on a six-yard pass to Chuck Foreman in the third quarter. Simpson’s record came on a 64-yard pass from backup quarterback Gary Marangi.
  1 2 3 4 F
Minnesota Vikings 14 7 14 0 35
Buffalo Bills 0 7 6 0 13
Scoring Summary:
MIN Foreman 4-yard run (Cox Kick)
MIN Lash fumble recovery in end zone (Cox Kick)
MIN Foreman 1-yard run (Cox Kick)
BUF Simpson 24-yard run (Leypoldt Kick)
MIN Foreman 1-yard pass from Tarkenton (Cox Kick)
MIN Foreman 6-yard pass from Tarkenton (Cox Kick)
BUF Simpson 64-yard pass from Marangi (Kick Failed)
Date: December 24, 1977
Location: Memorial Stadium (Baltimore, MD)
Attendance: 60,763
At the time, this was the third longest game in NFL history. Today, it stands as the fourth longest game in NFL history. However, this game was remembered for one specific play: the Ghost to the Post. The famous play was a 42-yard pass from Ken Stabler to tight end Dave Casper, as part of a seven-play, 65-yard drive to set up the game-tying field goal with 26 seconds left on the clock. In the second overtime, Stabler hit Casper for a 10-yard scoring strike to give the Raiders the win and their fifth straight AFC Championship game appearance.
  1 2 3 4 OT OT F
Oakland Raiders 7 0 14 10 0 6 37
Baltimore Colts 0 10 7 14 0 0 31
Scoring Summary:
OAK Davis 30-yard run (Mann Kick)
BAL Laird 61-yard interception return (Linhart Kick)
BAL Linhart 36-yard field goal
OAK Casper 8-yard pass from Stabler (Mann Kick)
BAL Johnson 87-yard kick return (Linhart Kick)
OAK Casper 10-yard pass from Stabler (Mann Kick)
BAL R. Lee 1-yard run (Linhart Kick)
OAK Banaszak 1-yard run (Mann Kick)
BAL R. Lee 13-yard run (Linhart Kick)
OAK Mann 22-yard field goal
OAK Casper 10-yard pass from Stabler
Ken Crippen is the executive director of the Professional Football Researchers Association, a non-profit educational organization dedicated to preserving football history.You can follow him on Twitter: @KenCrippen.